293 Sparta Street
Spencer, Tennessee 38585


Cheryl Cole, Director of Schools




Van Buren County Schools - Where Kids Come First



Calendar 2014-15
School Board
School Closings
Federal Programs
Coordinated Health
Highly Qualified
Family Involvement Plan








Van Buren County has two pre-schools, one elementary school, one middle school, and one high school. Van Buren County School System has a unique situation where Early Bird Pre-School, Spencer Elementary, and Van Buren County High are all housed on one campus. We are fortunate to have another pre-school, UCHRA, Van Buren County Head Start located in our county.  We celebrate the fact that we are a small school system. We believe that knowing our kids can and does make a difference in every aspect of their education.

Our Mission

The mission of the Van Buren County School System is: (1) To provide each student a quality education and the skills necessary to function successfully in todayís changing society; (2) To develop an appreciation for diversified cultures; (3) To develop problem solving and critical thinking skills necessary to meet the demands of the future; and (4) To foster an appreciation of learning as a life-long process.



Tennessee State Curriculum Standards

UCHRA Van Buren County Head Start

School Board Policy

Dolly Parton's Imagination Library
TDOE Report Card
Technology Bids
My Tennessee Public Schools

Click Here for State and Van Buren County Schools testing dates/windows:

2014-15 Assessment Calendar

My TN Public Schools Badge  

Contact Information

Telephone 9319462242
FAX 9319462858
Postal address
293 Sparta Street
          Spencer, TN 38585
Electronic mail
Director of Schools:  Cheryl  Cole


VAN BUREN COUNTY SCHOOLS does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability in admission to or access to, or treatment or employment in, its programs and activities. The system will be in compliance with the regulations implementing Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1994, Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972, The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Any person having inquiries concerning the system's compliance with the regulations implementing Title VI, Title IX, or the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is directed to contact Van Buren County Schools compliance officer by calling 931-946-2242.


Home | Calendar 2014-15 | Schools | School Board | School Closings | Federal Programs | Technology | Coordinated Health | Transportation | Highly Qualified | Family Involvement Plan | Employment | AHERA

This site was last updated 03/26/15